Letitia Bigelow: The older a car gets, the more things wear out. So as time goes on the figures become worse. Now a BMW will cost at least twice as much a year to fix and being ten years old it will be having things starting to go wrong a quick rate. The Honda is known for reliability and if it is like my Mazda products most of the original parts will still be doing a good job longer then you will care to own it. Meaning things like starters and alternators.Audi cars are not as good as BMW's for long term owner ship.You need to realize how often the average Audi or BMW owner keeps a car for, it is designed to keep them happy for about three to five years at most and then behave in such a way that it encourages the owner to replace it. They are very good at this.While a Honda Civic owner will tend to either own the car till it drops or pass it on to another family member or friend (knowing it should continue to be a good car for at least another five or more years).Me, I d! rive Mazda products. Every one of them is over 20 years old and I am not about to sell them yet. Still cheap to maintain and fix. Problem is very little breaks and need repaired. Kind of boring for some one who loves getting their hands dirty and mechanics hate them too because there is not enough that goes wrong with one to help them keep the doors open....Show more
Wilfred Santacruce: If you can afford to fork out $200-$600 at any given time for minor repairs.Like just replacing parts that break.Labor costs for those cars are $100 and up per hour.If your car sits in a repair shop all day (which is common with most used cars) expect to be paying over $1000 in just labor to get your car back.To own a used BMW or Audi with no bumper to bumper warantee you have to have at least $2000 in the bank just in case a needed repair.A Honda,Civic,or Toyota is a much wiser choice.Its always nice to have a car AND money in your pocket...Show more
Wilfredo Muldoon: I had an 8! 0's BMW (one of my worst cars). It seemed quite expensive to m! e. A used manual transmission that didn't even work was nearly $2000 even after the core exchange. It broke my nearly $300 clutch even though the clutch was just a regular clutch, nothing special.I had two 80's Toyotas, a Camry and a Corolla. Not too cheap but quite a bit better than the BMW. I also had an early 90's Honda Accord. The Honda was more expensive than the Toyotas but not quite as much as the BMW. Might I add that the Honda and BMW were much more difficult to work on than the Toyotas (i.e. alternator, CV joints, oil changes, transmissions, electrical, radiator, etc). The Toyotas had the oil filter right where you could get to it whereas the in the Honda I had to go clear under it and behind the engine to reach it. I don't even want to talk about the BMW (great car for target practice). However I have worked on 1990's Toyotas and they seem just as difficult now than they used to be.After trying these cars, plus a few more, I went to a 1972 VW Beetle. The parts ar! e cheap and the car is easy to work on. I can get a rebuilt transmission in $350 (although you can easily rebuild one yourself), an entire engine gasket kit in less than $30, It uses 2.5 quarts of oil per oil change and no antifreeze, etc, etc....Show more
Marcelle Vanlith: If you're planning on buying a bmw in that year range you might be looking for trouble. I'm an auto tech and just from experience, alot of the transmissions on the 500 series in those years gave out over 100k. They may appear to be attractive buys, but be wary....all parts and labor are very expensive...Better off doing some research and getting the best bang for your 5g.
Tatiana Evanosky: BMW MB audis will cost triple honda and the other ecno cars for parts labor is about double.. try looking up a starter motor for each...on napa.com or auto zone,,u will see the price difference
Carlton Lastrapes: rapid is a huge one yet i think of an indica or a decrease end Indigo will do the chor! es besides as provide you a large mileage !!! i recommend you opt for d! iesel merely!affordable and valuable
Chastity Doderer: Used luxury isn't worth it. Any car this is 12 years old will have its problems. If you buy a BMW and it needs a part, expect to spend at least double for what you would any part for say a jdm of the same year.
No comments:
Post a Comment